Piano 2018:   May 17th – 19th at Muttart Hall, Alberta College
Gloria Reimer

Gloria Reimer


Born in Alberta, Canada, Gloria Reimer completed her musical studies with Janet Scott-Hoyt and Marek Jablonski at the University of Alberta, where she graduated with a Bachelor of Music Degree in Piano Performance in 1998, and with Sergio Perticaroli at the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome.

From a very young age, Gloria has obtained numerous prizes and scholarships, some including the first prize at the ARMTA Edmonton Branch STARS Competition, the Dorothy Buckley Prize at the CFMTA National Piano Competition, and the Beryl Barnes Memorial Award in Music from the University of Alberta.

In 1996 and 1997, she received scholarships from the J. Strauss Foundation of Edmonton for study at the Mozarteum in Salzburg and in 1998, 2004 and 2006, a scholarship for study at the Banff School of Fine Arts where she also recorded her first CD dedicated to the composer Sergey Prokofiev.

In 1999, following scholarships from the Government of Italy and the Winspear Foundation of Edmonton, she attended the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome, where she graduated brilliantly in 2001.

Gloria has been a prize-winner in many national and international competitions, winning first prize at the Piano Competition “Città di Grosseto”, first prize at the Music Competition “Riviera Etrusca”, and first prize at the “Città di Magliano Sabina” Competition.

She collaborated with the famous Italian actor Umberto Orsini, with whom she débuted at the International Festival of Santo Stefano in Bologna in a recital alternating poetry and music, and is actively performing as a soloist and chamber musician in Italy, France, Austria, Japan and Canada, where she performed, among others, as soloist with the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra and the Banff Festival Orchestra.

Gloria has been active as a piano teacher for 20 years, and is presently Professor of Piano at the Conservatorio Santa Cecilia in Rome and the Civica Scuola delle Arti in Rome.

2016 Piano Competitors

Jeanne Amièle Chris (Ka Long) Au Carter Johnson Jocelyn Lai Natalie Lo Gaspard Tanguay-Labrosse

Important Information

  • Winner of 2014 Shean Piano Competition: Meagan Milatz!  Press Release here
  • Winner of 2012 Shean Piano Competition: Adam Żukiewicz!
  • The winner of the Shean Piano Competition 2010 is Scott MacIsaac!
  • We received 23 applications.
  • Brochures are available on the download page.